UFC Fight Night 81 || Complete Results from the TD Garden in Boston

Photo Credit: Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC

UFC Fight Night 81 will be held on January 17, 2016 at the TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts.

A UFC Bantamweight Championship bout between current champion T.J. Dillashaw and former WEC and UFC Bantamweight champion Dominick Cruz will headline the stacked lineup in Boston.

Dillashaw (12-2 MMA) won the UFC Bantamweight title against Renan Barao at UFC 173 in a ‘Performance of the Night’ and a ‘Fight of the Night’ dominant performance. An immediate rematch with Barão was scheduled to take place on August 30, 2014, at UFC 177. However, the day of the weigh-ins, Barão had to be admitted to the hospital as a result of his attempts to cut weight and was replaced by Joe Soto who was already scheduled to compete in a fight on the event’s preliminary card. Dillashaw defeated Soto via knockout in the fifth round. The win also earned Dillashaw his second consecutive Performance of the Night bonus award.

The rematch with Barao eventually took place at UFC on Fox 16 on July 25, 2015. Dillashaw won the fight via TKO in the fourth round to retain his title. He also earned a his third straight Performance of the Night bonus.

After nearly three years away from the sport due to injuries, Cruz, the former WEC and UFC champion returned to the octagon on September 27, 2014 at UFC 178 where he faced Takeya Mizugaki. Cruz won the fight by KO in the first round. The win also earned Cruz his first Performance of the Night bonus award.  At the post-fight press conference, Dana White confirmed that Cruz’s next fight would be for the Bantamweight Championship against T.J. Dillashaw.

The co-main event features a lightweight bout between former champion Anthony Pettis and former Bellator champion Eddie Alvarez.

Check out the UFC Fight Night 81 results below.

Main card (FOX Sports 1 at 10 p.m. ET)
Dominick Cruz def. T.J. Dillashaw via split decision (48-47, 46-49, 49-46) to become the new UFC Bantamweight champion
Eddie Alvarez def. Anthony Pettis via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Travis Browne def. Matt Mitrione via TKO (punches) – Round 3, 4:09
Francisco Trinaldo def. Ross Pearson via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)

Preliminary Card (FOX Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET)
Patrick Cote def. Ben Saunders via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 1:14
Ed Herman def. Tim Beotsch via TKO (knee, punches) – Round 2, 1:39
Chris Wade def. Mehdi Baghdad via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 4:30
Luke Sanders def. Maximo Blanco via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 3:38

Preliminary Card (UFC Fight Pass at 6 p.m. ET)
Paul Felder def. Daron Cruickshank via submission (rear-naked choke) -Round 3, 3:56
Ilir Latifi def. Sean O’Connell via knockout (punches) – Round 1, 0:30
Charles Rosa def. Kyle Bochniak via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Rob Font def. Joey Gomez via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 4:13
Francimar Barroso def. Elvis Mutapcic via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)

Leave a Reply