São Paulo, Brazil – Keith Peterson, the referee for the bout, mistakenly stopped the contest without a tap from Abel Trujillo, effectively handing an undeserved submission victory to Gleison Tibau.
UFC Fight Night 77 was held on November 7, 2015 at the Ginásio do Ibirapuera in São Paulo, Brazil. Gleison Tibau vs. Abel Trujillo took place on the preliminary portion of the card which aired on Fox Sports 1 in the United States and BT Sport in the UK.
Tibau secured a quick takedown against the dangerous Abel Trujillo early in Round 1. The ultra-experienced veteran then transitioned to Trujillo’s back and began looking for a rear naked choke. It looked as if he might’ve been closing in on getting a legitimate stoppage, but the referee mistakenly thought Trujillo, who hadn’t tapped, had lost conciousness and the bout was stopped prematurely.
Trujillo objected vehemently, but the damage had already been done and the flawed decision was made official only a few short minutes afterwards. Gleison Tibau, now tied with Michael Bisping for 4th most victories in the UFC, improves to 33-11. Abel Trujillo unjustly falls to 12-6.
Check out our latest podcast episode featuring Robbie Fox of Barstool Sports.